The European Parliament Elections

The elections to the European Parliament are going to take place from 23 to 26 May 2019, in all 27 EU member states.

In Denmark, the EU election is going to take place on Sunday, 26 May, from 9 AM to 8 PM.

If you live in Denmark and are a citizen of another EU country, you can also vote in the European Parliament elections in this country. However, this requires you to register to vote in Denmark. You need to actively apply for the registration via a special application form which can be downloaded here. The completed form should be sent to the Citizen Service in the municipality where you live no later than Tuesday, 23 April.

After you have been registered for the electoral roll, you will receive a voting card a week before the elections and no later than 21 May, which you need to bring to the polling place. The voting card contains the information on where in the municipality you will be able to vote.

Of course, your decision to vote in Denmark or in your home country is completely up to you. However, if you would like to vote in this country, you have to be registered in the electoral roll, as mentioned above. Once you have applied and been registered for the electoral roll, you are not required to apply and register in order to vote in the next elections.

Denmark will elect 14 Members to the Parliament in Strasbourg.

You can learn more about possibilities for EU citizens on the Ministry for Economic Affairs and the Interior website. Here you can also find the application form in other languages, e.g. German and English.

Siden er opdateret: